Garrison Keller is the host of a very popular live radio variety show called A Prairie Home Companion. (NOTE: If you have never listened to it, do it soon because Garrison is retiring!) He does a monologue that opens with him saying, “Well, it’s been a quiet week in Lake Wobegon, Minnesota, my hometown, out there on the edge of the prairie.”   Similarly, I would say, “Well, it’s been a HECTIC month in Orlando, Florida, my hometown, out there on the edge of the swamp.”

July has been a month of due dates on professional projects, family responsibilities and therapy craziness. There’s been absolutely no time to stop and write a blog. It is going to be at least another 2 or 3 weeks before I reach the light at the end of the tunnel.

I want to offer a few words of advice to my colleagues who I know work as hard as I do.

  • If you haven’t had a chance to read a trashy novel at the beach (covered in sun screen, of course), you’ve still got time. Reading journals and professional development materials can wait for a bit.
  • If you haven’t gotten a summer pedicure, get those piggies down to the salon. You deserve a little pampering for all the extra miles you put in to help people with disabilities.
  • If you haven’t had a picnic in a park, pack yourself a basket of goodies and go find a relaxing, shady spot. Re-charge when you can because your break-neck schedule of IEP meetings, therapy sessions, staff trainings, and professional conferences is no picnic.

I promise I will post more stories once I have time to think, reflect, and write. Meanwhile, I wanted to wish everyone a happy summer.

Now stop reading blogs and go do something fun!

